Standing Committees

The Academic Committee:

This Committee was established in accordance with the regulatory rules governing the University Deanship for Academic Affairs and Teaching Staff. It is an independent scientific committee in the faculty and has the following tasks and duties:

  1. To discuss and resolve the issues of the appointment and promotion of teachers, the registration of their scientific researches, the granting of approvals for accepting the invitations they may receive to attend scientific conferences and symposia outside the Republic and for granting them an official (scientific sabbatical) leave.
  2. To investigate and question the teachers on complaints submitted against them and to decide disciplinary punishments on them, prior to its submission to FMHS Council, the Academic Council and the University Council for approval.

The FMHS Academic Committee is formed by a decision issued by FMHS Dean and is made up of a number of FMHS teachers, who shall have a professor degree. Its composition shall be submitted to the University vice president for Academic Affairs.


Higher Studies and Scientific Research Committee:

This committee was established to consider all matters related to postgraduate studies, including the admission of students, results approval, approving of students’ research plans and supervising their scientific dissertations.

Students Affairs Committee:

This Committee was established to address the problems of student, to approve the results and to address everything related to student affairs.


The Medical Education Development Centre (MEDC) was established by the decision of the Sana’a University Rector No. 672 of 2002. It marks an important event at FMHS since it is competent to review FMHS curricula and train FMHS teachers on the development of educational programs and on modern methods in the teaching and learning processes. Its duties include promoting the development and implementation of the Continuing Education Plan. This center oversees the Quality Assurance & Academic Accreditation Unit and the Sana’a University Journal of Medical Sciences.