FMHS & its Development

The Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences (FMHS) was established in early 1990s, an era that was marked by high-level developments and challenges in the sphere of higher education philosophy, particularly in third world countries which had no option left but to overcome numerous challenges of development; given the scarcity of available resources coupled with the steady increase in population growth – with its great negative impacts on almost all aspects of life, most notably on education and health- in order to meet the needs of our societies ambitious for a better living conditions. Amid all these tough circumstances, the establishment of FMHS was in itself a source of hope to realize its mission of providing outputs that will help to address health problems of the people in Yemen and the region and be a good asset to realize of the vision adopted by the political leadership of this country. Thus, the very first step in setting-up FMHS was a conscious study of the characteristics of our country, its needs and level of resources. The outcomes of that study had shaped the vision which is presented in this profile; most notably, FMHS philosophy and a detailed description of FMHS outputs. We are very grateful to God for the much that we have successfully accomplished and we will continue to achieve more and more with firm steps

The FMHS began with a firm belief in the need to train an integrated health team that, despite the relatively short time-span since it was established, it had become an institution consisting of the following five divisions: the Medical, Nursing, Laboratories, Pharmaceuticals and Dental divisions. The reason for this was two-folded. We believed that this was exactly what the country needed, on one hand; and on the other it was the most appropriate option to make the maximum utilization of our available resources at that time. Later on, having become mature to be further developed in their areas of specializations, two FMHS divisions have evolved into two new independent faculties that have emerged out of FMHS, namely the Faculty of Pharmacy and the Faculty of Dentistry.
It was in the academic year of 1983/1984 that the first group of students was admitted (the Human Medicine Division). This batch of students was trained inside very humble buildings located at the Old Sana’a University campus, where a large part of the Faculty of Science’s labs were used for this training. Then, the design process of the (current) FMHS New Building Construction Project has been done with support from Kuwait. After that, the relevant authorities had studied the project and the designs for this pioneer educational and scientific institution were developed. On February 5th, 1985, the FMHS New Building Construction Project Execution Agreement was signed and the construction works started after that. Finally, after the completion of the construction works, FMHS has moved into its new building in the academic year of 1989/1990. Accordingly, the Human Medicines Division and the Medical Labs Division were moved from the Faculty of Science (building) into the new FMHS building. Worth mentioning here is that up to then 11 batches have been graduated from the Medical Labs Division and that the batch number 12 was the first batch that had graduated from FMHS (new building).

FMHS divisions were expanded to include the Pharmaceuticals Division in 1988, with the first batch graduated from this division consisted of thirty eight students. This was followed by the launch of the Nursing Division in 1989, the first batch of students graduated from this division consisted of thirteen students. Eight years later, a decision was made to establish the Dental Medicine Division as a new FMHS division in the academic year 1997-1998.

In the academic year 2001-2002, a decision was made by means of which two FMHS divisions were upgraded and evolved into two new independent faculties to keep up with the need for development and to give autonomy to different disciplines, in line with what is prevailing in international universities. By this, FMHS has only the following three divisions: the Human Medicine Division, the Laboratories Division and the Nursing Division. This is mainly because these three divisions complement each another.

In the 2001-2002 academic year, a decision was made to convert some of the college's People (Dentistry and pharmacy) to faculties that are in keeping with the need for development and to give autonomy to different disciplines, as in the case of international universities, and the Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences includes the Division of Human Medicine and laboratories and nursing being complementary to each other.
In recent years, FMHS has moved rapidly towards modernizing and upgrading its educational programs and teaching methods to keep up with latest higher education developments. This was by creating new Master’s and doctoral degrees programs in several disciplines in basic, applied and clinical Sciences. This has necessitated being more and more open to many scientific research centers both in the east and in the west in order to talk, discuss, share, adapt and upgrade through our contacts and interactions with universities, research centers and knowledge bases in other countries. Furthermore, we are excreting keen efforts to invite visitors and examiners to assess and find out about our scientific abilities and the level of our students – as we have been more active in organizing scientific conferences and joint workshops with several local, regional and international counterpart medical colleges. With all of this, FMHS has not overlooked the capacity development of its esteemed cadre of professors by giving them the opportunity to acquire more new experiences and keep abreast of latest developments in various fields of science and knowledge.
As part of our modern programs, we are actively working towards the implementation of necessary steps to ensure that FMHS outputs and programs are recognized by more and more high-level scientific centers. We are also now excreting further efforts to follow up on the graduates from the three FMHS divisions to continue to improve their level of performance in their work sites through the Continuing Education Programs and through ensuring that the do respect the profession ethics and conditions during their practical work in the field.

MEDICAL EDUCATION DEVELOPMENT CENTER

The Medical Education Development Centre (MEDC) was established by the decision of the Sana’a University Rector No. 672 of 2002. It marks an important event at FMHS since it is competent to review FMHS curricula and train FMHS teachers on the development of educational programs and on modern methods in the teaching and learning processes. Its duties include promoting the development and implementation of the Continuing Education Plan. This center oversees the Quality Assurance & Academic Accreditation Unit and the Sana’a University Journal of Medical Sciences.

تاريخ الكلية

جاء إنشاء كلية الطب و العلوم الصحية في أوائل العقد التاسع من القرن العشرين في ظروف اتسمت بتطورات وتحديات عالية المستوى في فلسفة التعليم العالي وعلى وجه الخصوص في عالمنا الثالث الذي وجد نفسه أمام تحديات التطور والسباق لتلبية احتياجات مجتمعاتنا المتطلعة إلى الارتقاء بأحوالها بإمكانيات شحيحة ، و زيادة سكانية مضطردة – كان لها كبير الأثر في كل أوجه الحياة و على رأسها النواحي التعليمية و الصحيــــــة – جاءت الكلية في هذه الظروف تتحسس خطواتها أملة أن تقدم للشعب اليمني و والمنطقة المحيطة مخرجات تسهم في معالجة مشاكلها الصحية و تكون إضافة و نتاجاً و تحقيقاً لرؤية القيادة السياسية لهذه البلاد. وعليه فقد كانت أولى خطوات الإنشاء دراسة واعية لخصائص بلادنا و احتياجاتها و معرفة بمستوى إمكانياتها – فاستقر الرأي على ما سيرد في الصفحات التالية و على رأسها فلسفة الكلية و توصيف مخرجاتها و الحمد لله فقد سرنا ولا زلنا نتابع المسيرة بخطوات ثابتة.

بدأت الكلية بعقيدة راسخة في ضرورة تدريب الفريق الصحي المتكامل حتى صارت في وقت وجيز مؤسسة ترتكز على خمس شعب: طب – تمريض – مختبـــــــــــرات – صيدلة - أسنان و إيماناً منا بأن هذا ما كان تحتاجه البلاد أولاً ، ثم أنه كان الوضع الأنسب للاستفادة القصوى من إمكانياتنا الراهنة في ذلك الوقت ، ثم استقلت كليتا الصيدلة و الأسنان بعد أن أصبحتا أهلاً للتطور في مجاليهما .
ففي العام الجامعي 1983 / 1984م تم قبول أول مجموعة من الطلاب ( شعبة الطب البشري) الذين بدأ تدريبهم في مباني متواضعة داخل الحرم الجامعي في المباني القديمة وقد تم الاستعانة لذلك بجزء كبير من معامل كلية العلوم وقد صمم مشروع بناء كلية الطب والعلوم الصحية في موقعه الحالي بمساعدة كويتية ثم بدأ في تنفيذ مشروع إنشاء الكلية بعد أن عكفت الجهات المعنية على دراسة ووضع التصميم لهذه المؤسسة العلمية إلى أن تم توقيع اتفاقيه التنفيذ في الخامس من فبراير عام 1985 ثم انتقلت الكلية إلى مبناها الجديد بعد اكتماله في العام الدراسي1989 /1990 م وبموجبه تم نقل شعبتي الطب البشري والمختبرات الطبية من كلية العلوم إلى كلية الطب ( مبناها الحالي ) علماً بأن شعبة المختبرات الطبية قد تخرج منها إلى ذلك الحين إحدى عشر دفعة وتعتبر الدفعة الثانية عشر أول دفعة تتخرج من شعبة المختبرات في كلية الطب والعلوم الصحية.

وتم التوسع في شعب الكلية حيث شملت شعبة الصيدلة عام1988 م وقد بدأت شعبة الصيدلة بقبول أول دفعة من الطلاب البالغ عددهم ثمان وثلاثون طالب وطالبة تلي ذلك فتح شعبة التمريض في عام1989 م والتي استهلت مسيرتها بقبول ثلاثة عشر طالب وطالبة. وبعد مضى ثمان سنوات جاء قرار بإنشاء شعبة طب الأسنان كشعبة من شعب الكلية في العام الجامعي1997 /1998 م.
في العام الجامعي2001 /2002 م صدر قرار بتحويل بعض شعب الكلية( طب الأسنان – الصيدلة) إلى كليات مواكبة للحاجة إلى التطور وإعطاء الاستقلالية للتخصصات المختلفة كما هو الحال عليه في الجامعات العالمية، وأصبحت كلية الطب والعلوم الصحية تشمل شعبة الطب البشري والمختبرات والتمريض كونها مكملة لبعضها البعض.

و في الحقبة الأخيرة اتجهت الكلية في خطوات متسارعة نحو تحديث برامجها التدريسية و أساليبها التعليمية في مسايرة واعية و مواكبة للجديد في مجال التعليم العالي و ذلك بإنشاء درجات الماجستير و الدكتوراه في العديد من التخصصات في العلوم الأساسية والتطبيقية والسريرية الأمر الذي أقتضى مزيداً من الانفتاح على العديد من مراكز البحث العلمي في الشرق و الغرب نحاور و نقتبس و نجدد من خلال اتصالاتنا بالجامعات و ينابيع العلم و المعرفة في تلك المواقع كما نجتهد في دعوة الزائرين و الممتحنين للوقوف على مقدراتنا العلمية و مستوى طلابنا – كما أزداد نشاطنا في عقد المؤتمرات العلمية وورش العمل المشتركة مع عدد من كليات الطب المناظرة محلياً وإقليميا ودولياً. و ومع كل هذا لم تغفل الكلية العمل على تنمية قدرات كوادرها من الأساتذة الأجلاء بإتاحة الفرصة لهم لاكتساب المزيد من الخبرات الجديدة و مواكبة الجديد في شتى فروع العلم و المعرفة.

و من برامجنا الحديثة الآن نعمل بكل همة و نشاط نحو تنفيذ الخطوات الضرورية لمزيد من الاعتراف بمخرجات الكلية و اعتماد برامجها من قبل المراكز العلمية ذات المستوى الرفيع. كما أننا نشرع الآن لبذل المزيد من الجهد في متابعة خريجي الكلية بفروعها الثلاثة و مواصلة الارتقاء بمستوى أدائهم في مواقع أعمالهم من خلال برامج التعليم المستمر و مراعاة ظروف و أخلاقيات المهنة أثناء مسيرتهم العملية.

مركز تطوير التعليم الطبي

يعتبر إنشاء مركز تطوير التعليم الطبي والذي أنشى بقرار رئيس الجامعة رقم  672, 673 للعام  2002م حدثاً مهماً في الكلية حيث انه يختص بمراجعة مناهج الكلية وتدريب أعضاء هيئة التدريس على وضع وتطوير البرامج التعليمية وعلى الأساليب الحديثة في عمليتي التعليم والتعلم كما أن من واجباته التشجيع على وضع وتنفيذ خطة التعليم المستمر ويشرف المركز على مكتبة الكلية ووحدة الوسائل التعليمية وقاعات الدوريات ووحدة الحاسوب ومجلة جامعة صنعاء للعلوم الطبية.